Find A Doctor

  • View All Doctors

Understand Lung Cancer

There are two types of lung cancersmall cell lung cancer (SCLC) and non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC), which can include sub-types of lung cancer. Your type and stage of lung cancer will be determined by our cancer specialist team at the Cancer Institute at Gwinnett Medical Center.

The stage of any type of cancer is based on the size and location of the tumor and whether or not the cancer cells have spread to lymph nodes or other organs. Lung cancer may be Stage I, II, III or IV, with possible variations of stages. It is critical to have an accurate diagnosis so the most effective treatment can then be determined.  

In addition to specialization for lung cancer, our team of cancer specialists provide expert care for the diagnosis and treatment of other thoracic, or chest, cancers, including:

For more information about lung or chest cancer diagnosis or treatment, contact one of our experts at 678-312-3100.


Understand Risk Factors and Lung or Chest Cancer Symptoms

Symptoms of lung cancer or indications of chest cancers may include:

  • Chronic bronchitis
  • Frequent pneumonia
  • Hoarseness
  • New or persistent cough
  • Persistent lung infections
  • Shortness of breath
  • Wheezing

The number one risk factor for lung cancer remains smoking. In addition, exposure to secondhand smoke or other substances such as radon or asbestos increases your risk of lung cancer. Our team can help you or your loved one quit smoking through free programs, including an online program. If you are interested, please contact Nancy McCormick, RN, BSN - GMC Cancer Institute Thoracic Nurse Navigator.