Find A Doctor

  • View All Doctors
  • Share this:
  • Gwinnett Medical Center on Facebook
  • Gwinnett Medical Center on Twitter
  • Google+

Glancy Rehabilitation Center and CARF Accreditation

Since 1994, Glancy Rehabilitation Center has earned the highest level of accreditation available from the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF). In addition, Glancy has earned the CARF designation as a Stroke Specialty Program. Rehabilitation facilities are not required to seek CARF accreditation; however, those that choose to do so provide the most comprehensive programs, while demonstrating their ability to meet the highest level of quality standards.

Here are some frequently asked questions about CARF Accreditation:

What is CARF?

CARF stands for the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities. Founded in 1966, CARF International is an independent, nonprofit accreditor of specific areas of health and human services.

The CARF family of organizations currently accredits close to 50,000 programs and services at more than 22,000 locations. CARF accreditation extends to countries in North and South America, Europe, Asia and Africa.

Why Does CARF Accreditation Matter?

Because CARF is an independent, nonprofit organization focused on advancing the quality of services for the best possible outcomes, when you choose a CARF-accredited program, you are assured of receiving the highest quality of care for acute rehabilitation services.

Consumers face a variety of options when deciding what services to use and who should provide them. Accreditation is a sign of quality, and it is an important consideration in making the choice regarding which services to use for care.

What is CARF Accreditation?

CARF provides accreditation services worldwide at the request of health and human service providers. Providers that meet CARF’s standards have demonstrated their commitment to being among the best service providers available.

CARF accreditation signals a commitment to maintain high standards, continually improve services, encourage feedback and serve the community.

The accreditation process starts with a provider’s commitment to ongoing improvement, and it culminates with an external review that recognizes the ways in which the provider’s business and service practices meet international standards of quality. The many steps in between focus on optimal outcomes for each person the provider serves, as well as sustaining the organization’s success.

Who Sets CARF Standards?

More than 40 years have gone into the CARF standards, and they have been informed by international teams of service providers, policy makers, payers, family members and consumers. CARF standards have also been submitted to the public for review, in order to validate relevancy and ensure input from all interested stakeholders.

What are the Steps to Accreditation by CARF?

After a service provider commits to accreditation, the organization undergoes a thorough self-evaluation that applies the relevant CARF standards to its practices. Once the organization conforms to the standards, a request for a CARF survey is submitted.

The survey team comprises industry peers who follow a consultative (rather than an inspective) approach in conducting the on-site survey. In addition to on-site interviews, the surveyors observe organizational practices, review appropriate documentation, answer questions and suggest ways to improve the provider’s operations and service delivery.

Following completion of the survey, CARF renders an accreditation decision and delivers a report that identifies the service provider’s strengths and areas for improvement, as well as its level of demonstrated conformance to the standards.

Where Can I Learn More About CARF?

Visit CARF’s website at